Gary Brand Astrology
Good Timing and Location are Keys to Success
Call Gary at
Home Page Gary's Services Put Gary to Work for You What's New on this Site Gary's Published Articles Photo Gallery
Hot Topics:
Latest Article by Gary
Our Economic Crisis
Old vs. New
Hurricane Katrina
Astrology's Validity
Home Page
or Site Map
Gary's Services
or Chart Index
Put Gary to Work
for You!
What's New
on this Site
Gary's Published
Photo Gallery
or Art Gallery

Slow Global Warming


by Gary Brand - written January 7, 2003,
published in the February 2003 edition of Echo* newspaper
n my conversations with people, I frequently encounter a concept touted by pop astrology books:  that of the evolutionary reincarnation of the spiritual soul progressively through the 12 signs of the zodiac.  In this simplistic view, people born with the Sun in Aries are the least evolved because it is the first sign and they will be born in their next life with Sun in Taurus, the next sign, if they evolve during this lifetime.  The same mindset tells us that those born with the Sun in Pisces are the most highly evolved souls because it is the last sign and, presumably, this lifetime is their last.  Experience does not support this concept because there are plenty of examples of people with an Aries Sun who are sage and highly evolved and there are other examples of people with Sun in Pisces who are addictive waifs.  Like most theories, there is probably some truth to it, however.

My astrology teacher, Lucille Christie, thought that there is an evolution of our souls from one incarnation to another through each Sun sign of the zodiac but that it was in the form of a spiral or helix.  Her theory was that each zodiacal sequence, from Aries to Pisces, is connected to another above and below it to form a helix, like a coiled spring, each turn of which contains the twelve signs of the zodiac in ascending order, with Aries at the bottom and Pisces at the top.  She further hypothesized that each soul makes choices in their current life that result in a rebirth the next lifetime on this evolutionary spiral that is upward and forward in the zodiac, downward and backward in the zodiac or into the same Sun sign, depending upon the spiritual progress gained or lost.  For the vast majority of souls, the evolution on their helix of reincarnation is upward one zodiacal sign each lifetime but Lucille also believed that an individual soul could skip signs or even "leap" from one circuit of the helix to the one above by making great personal sacrifices or by rendering great service to humanity.  Conversely, souls can devolve down the evolutionary spiral one or more Sun signs by identifying too strongly with physical sensations and materialism in a lifetime.  A soul can also "fall" from one circuit to the one below or even further down on the spiral by hurting or oppressing many people.  At the bottom of this spiritual spiral is a form of "Hell on Earth" or complete lack of awareness or caring of anything or anyone outside the self.  At the top of the helix is release from the cycle of reincarnation.  Which direction is your soul headed on your spiral of spiritual development?

Elisabeth Haich, in her book Initiation, talked about a similar soul evolution or devolution through reincarnation.  She also talks about the epochs of the world, what are most often referred to as the "Ages," and how humanity learns the manifestations of each of the 12 epochs or Ages, which each last about 2,150 terrestrial years (caused by the cycle of precession of the equinoxes). We are now in a centuries-long transition from the Age of Pisces to the Age of Aquarius so the evolutionary progress of humanity represented by the precession of the equinoxes is opposite to the normal order of the zodiac.  Elisabeth Haich says that, during the Age of Aquarius, humanity will evolve not only technologically but revolutions will bring an end to the ruling class and the world will be governed from one center.  She says that the three dominant religions will merge and the boundary between religion and science will disappear as we discover "that the only differences between manifestations of the spirit and those of matter are differences of frequency, while in its essence everything is only the manifestation of the one, single, prime source of all forces, God."  There is hope for the future.  Transits during February are a reminder of these great forces that shape our destiny.

Planetary oppositions literally mean two planets diametrically opposed in the sky with the Earth between them.  Oppositions between the five slowest planets are the most significant because they last for relatively long periods of time and represent societal forces.  Jupiter opposes Neptune all this month and through the first week of March.  This aspect occurs once every 13 years and is characterized by unbridled optimism, idealism and enthusiasm.  The downside to this is the potential for a big disappointment or letdown.  It will bring comparisons between where we currently are in our spiritual growth versus where we would like to be.  The ideal is often far from the reality of how we live our lives.  With Jupiter in Leo and Neptune in Aquarius, we have an opportunity to put our lives more on a basis of understanding and outreach to others who are suffering or who need our help.  Instead of buying something for yourself, give that money to a charity.  Saturn is opposing Pluto for the last time this month until 2035.  The disasters of September 11, 2001 were a manifestation of this influence, which tests our ability to transform outmoded structures, boldly examine the past and change what isn't working, and trust in the process of change instead of resisting it.

*Echo is a monthly newspaper about community, the environment, health, cuisine, and spirituality that is distributed in central Virginia.
Good Timing and Location are Keys to Success

Gary Brand, Traditional Astrologer
Tallahassee, Florida

© copyright 2003-2013 Gary Brand.  All Rights Reserved.